home page

|- Raj Bhavan News
   Rajbhavan    Governors    Bhopal    Miscellany
M.P. Governors : Mr. R. Thakur

Former Governors of Madhya Pradesh

Mr. R. Thakur
Shri Rameshwar Thakur
Tenure : 30.06.2009 to 08.09.2011
Blossomed - 28 July 1927 (Village Thakur Gangti, District Godda, Jharkhand)
Wilted On - 16th January 2015
Early education in Bhagalpur, Patna University
M.A., L.L.B. from Calcutta University
Chartered Accountant (F.C.A.) from I.C.A.I., India in 1953

Wife : Shrimati Narmada Thakur
Children : Two sons and Two daughters

  • Actively involved in the Quit India movement in 1942, stayed underground for about 6 months in Raj Mahal hills of Santhal Parganas, Jharkhand
  • Arrested and detained in Central Jail, Kolkata (Dum Dum) beacuse of participation in the national movement in 1942
  • Active participation in health care, educational upliftment, social reforms and rural reconstruction activities particularly in Santhal Parganas, Jharkhand
  • Worked as a Chartered Accountant in the 1950s
  • Lecturer with City College, Calcutta University during 1955-60
  • Visiting Professor, Department of Management Studies, Delhi University during 1960-73
  • Actively involved in social welfare activities
  • Founder Secretary of Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration as well as Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award
  • Founder trustee of Hari Devi Memorial Fund set up in 1965
  • Set up a 30-bedded Hari Devi Rural Referral Hospital at Godda in 1976
  • Set up a 40-bedded Hospital for Cancer, Leprosy & T.B. in 2002 at native village, Thakur Gangti, Dist. Godda, Jharkhand
  • Founder trustee of Gadadhar Mishra Memorial Fund established in 1965 at Gandhigram
  • Gadadhar Fund engaged in Khadi & Village Industries, Rural Development Programmes in Godda District, Jharkhand
  • ICAI Council member from 1964 to 1970
  • President of Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (VIth Council) during 1966-67
  • President of Indian Fellowship of former Scouts and Guides
  • President of Indian Scouts and Guides from November 1998 to November 2001, and again after November 2004
  • Chairman of Study Group on Banking Costs, Banking Commission, Government of India from 1978-82
  • Former convener of Committee for Productivity, Efficiency and Profitability, RBI
  • Chairman of Associated Journals Ltd. from 1987-91. (National Herald Group of Papers)
  • Chairman of Thakur Research Foundation, New Delhi
  • Chairman of Rajendra Bhawan Trust, New Delhi
  • Former Director, Unit Trust of India (4 years)
  • Director, Punjab National Bank from 1978 to 1982
  • Former Director, Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India (3 years)
  • Former Director, Punjab-Haryana and Delhi Chambers of Commerce (3 years)
  • Member of Board of Governors, Management Development Institute, Gurgaon, Haryana
  • Member of Planning Commission Committee on Voluntary Participation in Rural Development (1978-79)
  • Member of Central Direct Taxes Advisory Committee
  • Member of Bihar State Planning Board
  • Member of Uttar Pradesh State Planning Board
  • Member of AICTE in Commerce
  • Member of Governing Board, Peoples Action for Rural Development (Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India)
  • Secretary of Sanjay Gandhi Memorial Trust, Amethi, Uttar Pradesh, since 1986
  • Deputy Leader Indian Parliamentary Union Conference, Geneva (1984)
  • Group Leader of Indian Delegation to the World Congress of Scouts, Burssels (1964)
  • Founder and Group Leader of the International Congress of Accountants, Mexico in 1982
  • Leader of Fifteenth Asia Pacific Gathering, Colombo (1984)
  • Leader of Indian Delegation to the 17th General Assembly Coventry, London (1987)
  • Chairman, World Congress of Scouts & Guides Fellowship (1999)
  • Senior Indian National Congress politician
  • Elected to Rajya Sabha for the first time from April 1984 to March 1990
  • Member of Committee of Privileges, Rajya Sabha during 1986-90
  • Member of Public Accounts Committee during 1986-89
  • Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from April 1990 to March 1996
  • Union Minister of Finance (Revenue) and Rural Development and Parliamentary Affairs from June 1991 up to December 1994
  • Apppointed Governor of Orissa on 17 Novemeber, 2004
  • Handled additional charge of Governor of Andhra Pradesh from 29 January 2006 to 22 August 2007
  • Apppointed 15th Governor of Karnataka on 21 August 2007
  • Travelled to countries - Russia, Poland, Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, England, Switzerland, Egypt, USA, Mexico, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong, Thailand, Middle-East countries, Singapore, Bangladesh, etc.

::: Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution :::
::: Site Designed and Developed by Sanjeev Sharma :::
::: Contact Us :- webmaster rajbhavan mp :::