home page

|- Raj Bhavan News
   Rajbhavan    Governors    Bhopal    Miscellany
M.P. Governors : R P Gupta

Former Governors of Madhya Pradesh

Sh. R. P. Gupta
Shri R. P. Gupta
Tenure : 07.05.2003 to 01.05.2004

Shri Ram Prakash Gupta

Blossomed - 26 Oct 1923 (Sukwan-Dhukwan, Jhansi, U.P.)
Wilted On - 1 May 2004
Studied up to High School at Sikandrabad Nagar, Buland Shahar (U.P.)
M.Sc (Maths) with 1st division from Allahabad University

  • Joined RSS from student life itself
  • Full-time RSS worker after completion of studies
  • Active involvement in freedom struggle at Ballia in 1946 while he was still studying
  • Sangh Pracharak since 1946
  • Offered Satyagrah against cow slaughter in 1954
  • Member, UP Vidhan Parishad in 1964
  • Appointed Parliamentary Affairs Minister by Jansangh in 1964
  • Dy. C.M. and Education Minister in the first non-congress government in U.P. in 1967, lead by Charan Singh
  • President, UP unit of Bhartiya Jansangh in 1973
  • Elected to the Legislative Assembly from Lucknow central constituency in 1977 on a Janta Party ticket
  • Appointed Industries Minister in 1977
  • Re-elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1993
  • Dy. Chairman, UP state planning board in 1998
  • Chief Minister of UP in 1999 for 11 months
  • Tragically though, the only Governor who expired while in office

::: Best viewed at 1024 x 768 resolution :::
::: Site Designed and Developed by Sanjeev Sharma :::
::: Contact Us :- webmaster rajbhavan mp :::